2002 No. 2257

CORONERS

The Lancashire (Coroners' Districts) Order 2002

Made	2nd September 2002
Laid Before Parliament	4th September 2002
Coming into force	16th September 2002

Whereas:

(1) the Council of the County of Lancashire have, in pursuance of section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988(1) and after due compliance with the provisions of the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules 1927(2), submitted to the Secretary of State a draft Order providing for the alteration of the existing division of that county into coroners' districts; and

(2) the Secretary of State has made such modifications of the draft Order as he thinks fit;

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4(2) of that Act, and after taking into consideration objections to the draft made in the prescribed manner and within the prescribed time, hereby makes the following Order:

I.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Lancashire (Coroners' Districts) Order 2002.

(2) This Order shall come into force on 16th September 2002.

(3) This Order shall not have effect in relation to any inquest begun before the day on which it comes into force or to any post-mortem examination which, before that day, a coroner has directed or requested a medical practitioner to make.

2.—(1) The existing coroners' districts of North Lancashire and Preston and South West Lancashire (as constituted by the Lancashire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974(**3**)) shall be abolished.

(2) From the area of the coroners' districts referred to in paragraph (1) above there shall be formed the coroner's district of Preston and West Lancashire which shall consist of the area specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite its name as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

3. Accordingly, the County of Lancashire, other than that part of it included in the Blackpool and Fylde Coroner's District and the Blackburn, Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Coroner's District (as constituted by the Lancashire (Coroners) Order 1998(4)), shall be divided into two coroners' districts

^{(1) 1988} c. 13.

⁽²⁾ S.R.&O. 1927/343.

⁽**3**) S.I.1974/355.

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 1998/360.

and each such coroner's district shall consist of the area specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of the coroner's district in question as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The Lancashire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974 is hereby revoked.

Home Office 2nd September 2002 Hilary Benn Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

SCHEDULE

1.	2.
Name of coroner's district	Areas comprised in coroner's district
East Lancashire	The Boroughs of Burnley, Pendle and Rossendale.
Preston and West Lancashire	The Boroughs of Lancaster and Wyre, Chorley, South Ribble, the City of Preston and the District of West Lancashire.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The County of Lancashire was divided into five coroners' districts by the Lancashire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974. Two of these, Blackburn, Hyndburn and Ribble Valley and Blackpool and Fylde, ceased to be part of the jurisdiction of Lancashire by the Lancashire (Boroughs of Blackburn and Blackpool) (Structural Change) Order 1996 and the Lancashire (Coroners) Order 1998, when the unitary authorities of Blackpool and Blackburn with Darwen were established.

This Order creates one new coroner's district out of the existing coroners' districts of North Lancashire and Preston and South West Lancashire. The area of that district, named Preston and West Lancashire is set out in the Schedule to this Order. That Schedule also sets out the remaining coroner's district (East Lancashire) which is wholly inside the County of Lancashire.