STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2019 No. 221

# EXITING THE EUROPEAN UNION OVERSEAS TERRITORIES

The Overseas Association Decision (Revocation) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019

Sift requirements satisfied	31st January 2019
Made	11th February 2019
Laid before Parliament	13th February 2019
Coming into force in accordance with regulation 1	

The Secretary of State makes these Regulations in exercise of powers conferred by section 8(1) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018(1).

The requirements of paragraph 3(2) of Schedule 7 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (relating to the appropriate Parliamentary procedure for these Regulations) have been satisfied.

#### **Citation and commencement**

**1.** These Regulations may be cited as the Overseas Association Decision (Revocation) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 and come into force on exit day.

#### **Application of the Regulations**

2. These Regulations apply to the United Kingdom.

#### Interpretation

3. In these Regulations—

"Overseas Association Decision" means Council Decision 2013/755/EU of 25 November 2013 on the association of the overseas countries and territories with the European Union;(2)

#### **Revocation of the Overseas Association Decision**

4. The Overseas Association Decision is revoked.

<sup>(1) 2018</sup> c. 16.

<sup>(2)</sup> OJNo. L 344, 19.12.2013, p.1, as it applies in the European Union.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs.

11th February 2019

Ahmad of Wimbledon Minister of State Foreign and Commonwealth Office

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations are made in exercise of the powers in section 8 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (c. 16) in order to address deficiencies (under paragraphs (a), (d) and, to the extent not falling within (a) or (d), (e) of section 8(2)) arising from the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union.

These Regulations revoke retained EU law related to the association of the European Union with the overseas countries and territories of the European Union set out in Council Decision 2013/755/EU of 25 November 2013 on the association of the overseas countries and territories with the European Union (the "Overseas Association Decision" or "OAD"). These Regulations revoke the OAD given that it is an arrangement between the European Union and its associated overseas countries and territories. The United Kingdom's overseas territories that currently form part of this association (Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos Islands, and Virgin Islands) will no longer be in an association with the European Union under the OAD following the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private or voluntary sector is foreseen.