COMMISSION DECISION

of 20 December 1989

drawing up a list of third countries from which Member States authorize importation of deep-frozen semen of domestic animals of the bovine species

(90/14/EEC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community,

Having regard to Council Directive 88/407/EEC of 14 June 1988 laying down the animal health requirements applicable to intra-Community trade in and imports of deep-frozen semen of domestic animals of the bovine species (1), and in particular Article 8 thereof;

Whereas, in order to draw up a list of third countries from which Member States may authorize importation of semen, it is appropriate to take account of firstly the list of third countries from which Member States authorize imports of bovine animals, secondly of third countries traditionally exporting semen to the Community and finally of the known animal health status of these countries;

Whereas, while respecting the limitations arising from the adoption of the list, imports of semen shall continue to be subject to national provisions in respect of health and veterinary inspection in so far as they are not already subject to any Community health protection measures;

Whereas further Community measures remain to be adopted in respect of importation of semen; whereas the Commission is continuing its task of preparing such measures with due speed; whereas in the meantime it is necessary to take the first step by drawing up a list of

third countries from which Member States authorize importation of semen in order to avoid disruption of trade;

Whereas the measures provided for in this Decision are in accordance with the opinion of the Standing Veterinary Committee,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The importation of deep-frozen semen of domestic animals of the bovine species is allowed only from those third countries which appear on the list in the Annex to this Decision.

Article 2

This Decision is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 20 December 1989.

For the Commission
Ray MAC SHARRY
Member of the Commission

ANNEX

List of third countries from which Member States authorize importation of deep-frozen semen of domestic animals of the bovine species

Australia Austria

Canada Czechoslovakia

Finland Hungary

New Zealand

Poland

Romania Sweden

Switzerland

United States of America

Yugoslavia