# **COUNCIL DECISION**

# of 8 July 2008

# appointing two Polish members and one Polish alternate member of the Committee of the Regions

(2008/574/EC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 263 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal of the Polish Government,

#### Whereas:

- (1) On 24 January 2006 the Council adopted Decision 2006/116/EC appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2006 to 25 January 2010 (¹).
- (2) One member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the end of mandate of Mr Franciszek WOŁODŹKO. A member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the change of mandate of Mr Ludwik Kajetan WĘGRZYN. One alternate member's seat has become vacant following the end of mandate of Mr Marek TROMBSKI,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

# Article 1

The following persons are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2010:

(a) as members:

- Mr Jacek CZERNIAK, przewodniczący Sejmiku Województwa lubelskiego (Chairman of the Sejmik of the Lubelskie voivodship),
- Mr Bogusław ŚMIGIELSKI, marszałek województwa śląskiego (Marshall of the Śląskie voivodship),

and

- (b) as alternate member:
  - Mr Dariusz WRÓBEL, burmistrz Opola Lubelskiego (Mayor of Opole Lubelskie).

### Article 2

This Decision shall take effect on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 8 July 2008.

For the Council The President C. LAGARDE