ANNEX I

Additional guarantees which apply to the regionalisation of South Africa in respect of the temporary admission and imports into the Community of registered horses

- 2. Regionalisation
- 2.1. African horse sickness free area:

The metropolitan area of Cape Town is an African horse sickness free area which is delineated as follows:

— Northern :	:	Blaauwberg Road (M14);
boundary		
— Eastern :		Koeberg Road (M14), Plattekloof Road (M14), N7 Highway, N1
boundary		Highway and M5 Highway;
— Southern :		Ottery Road, Prince George's Drive, Wetton Road, Riverstone Road,
boundary		Tennant Road, Newlands Drive, Paradise Road, Union Drive, Rhodes
		Drive up to the Newslands Forestry station and across Echo Gorge of
		Table Mountain to Camps Bay;
— Western :	:	Coastline from Camps Bay to Blaauwberg Road.
boundary		

2.2. African horse sickness surveillance zone:

The African horse sickness free area is surrounded by a surveillance zone of at least 50 km width which includes the magisterial districts of Cape Town, Vredenburg, Hopefield, Mooreesburg, Malmesbury, Wellington, Paarl, Stellenbosch, Kuilsrivier, Goodwood, Wynberg, Simonstown, Somerset West, Mitchells Plain and Strand and is defined by the Berg Rivier to the north, the Hottentots Holland Mountains to the east and the coast to the south and west.

2.3. African horse sickness protection zone:

The surveillance zone is surrounded by a protection zone of at least 100 km width which includes the magisterial districts of Clanwilliam, Piketberg, Ceres, Tulbagh, Worcester, Caledon, Hermanus, Bredasdorp, Robertson, Montagu, Swellendam.

2.4. African horse sickness infected zone:

The part of the territory of South Africa outside the Western Cape Province and the part of the Western Cape Province outside the AHS free area and the protection and surveillance zone and including the magisterial districts of Vanrynsdorp, Vredendal, Laingsburg, Ladismith, Heidelberg, Riversdale, Mossel Bay, Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn, George, Knysna, Uniondale, Prince Albert, Beaufort West and Murraysburg.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Commission Decision of 8 August 2008 on the temporary admission and imports into the Community of registered horses from South Africa (notified under document number C(2008) 4211) (Text with EEA relevance) (2008/698/ EC), Division 2..