Status: This is the revised version from EUR-Lex dated 01/03/2020. There are no timeline of changes available for treaties, instead, previous dated versions from EUR-Lex (as pdf from 1992 onwards) can be accessed via the More Resources menu. This treaty has changed its name over time, originally signed in Rome in 1957 as the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (The Treaty of Rome) then becoming Treaty establishing the European Community. Its title is now Treaty on the functioning of the European Union.

Consolidated version of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union

PART SIX

INSTITUTIONAL AND FINANCIAL PROVISIONS

TITLE I

INSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

CHAPTER 1

THE INSTITUTIONS

SECTION 5

THE COURT OF JUSTICE OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Article 254

(ex Article 224 TEC)

The number of Judges [X10 of the General Court] shall be determined by the Statute of the Court of Justice of the European Union. The Statute may provide for the General Court to be assisted by Advocates-General.

The members of the General Court shall be chosen from persons whose independence is beyond doubt and who possess the ability required for appointment to high judicial office. They shall be appointed by common accord of the governments of the Member States for a term of six years, after consultation of the panel provided for in Article 255. The membership shall be partially renewed every three years. Retiring members shall be eligible for reappointment.

The Judges shall elect the President of the General Court from among their number for a term of three years. He may be re-elected.

The General Court shall appoint its Registrar and lay down the rules governing his service.

The General Court shall establish its Rules of Procedure in agreement with the Court of Justice. Those Rules shall require the approval of the Council.

Unless the Statute of the Court of Justice of the European Union provides otherwise, the provisions of the Treaties relating to the Court of Justice shall apply to the General Court.

Status: This is the revised version from EUR-Lex dated 01/03/2020. There are no timeline of changes available for treaties, instead, previous dated versions from EUR-Lex (as pdf from 1992 onwards) can be accessed via the More Resources menu. This treaty has changed its name over time, originally signed in Rome in 1957 as the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (The Treaty of Rome) then becoming Treaty establishing the European Community. Its title is now Treaty on the functioning of the European Union.

Editorial Information

X1 Inserted by Procès-verbal of rectification to the Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community, signed at Lisbon, 13 December 2007 (Official Journal of the European Union C 306 of 17 December 2007) (2008/C 111/18) This regulation has been carried out by means of a procès-verbal of rectification signed at Rome on 30 April 2008 with the Government of the Italian Republic as depository.