These notes refer to the Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008 (c.7) which received Royal Assent on 23 May 2008

Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008

EXPLANATORY NOTES

COMMENTARY ON SECTIONS

Section 2 – Local Government Boundaries Commissioner

Section 2 amends subsections (1) and (2) of the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 1972 ("the 1972 Act") to provide that a Local Government Boundaries Commissioner shall be appointed in 2008 and, following this initial review of the new local government boundaries, a Commissioner shall be appointed 8-12 years from the date on which the previous Commissioner submits his final report. It also sets out the functions of the Local Government Boundaries Commissioner.

Section 2 amends paragraph 18 of Schedule 4 to the 1972 Act to provide that the district of Belfast should be divided into 60 wards with each of the other ten districts being divided into 40 wards. It also gives the Commissioner flexibility to increase or decrease the number of wards per district by up to 5, if he considers it desirable, taking account of the size, population and physical diversity of the district and the representation of the rural and urban electorate within the district.