1989 No. 349

FISHERIES

Fisheries (Coarse Fishing and Rainbow Trout) Byelaws (Northern Ireland) 1989

Made 22nd August 1989 1st October 1989 Coming into operation

The Fisheries Conservancy Board for Northern Ireland, in exercise of their powers under section 26(1) of the Fisheries Act (Northern Ireland) 1966(a) and of every other power enabling them in that behalf, with the approval of the Department of Agriculture hereby makes the following Byelaws:

Citation and commencement

1. These Byelaws may be cited as the Fisheries (Coarse Fishing and Rainbow Trout) Byelaws (Northern Ireland) 1989 and shall come into operation on 1st October 1989.

Designation of rainbow trout waters

2. The following waters are hereby designated as rainbow trout waters for the purposes of Byelaw 51 of the Fisheries Consolidated, Amendment and Licence Duties Byelaws (Northern Ireland) 1969(b) (which stipulates that there shall be no close season for angling for rainbow trout in waters so designated):

Cranogue Fishery, Co. Antrim Dalways Lake, Co. Antrim Kilgad Fishery, Co. Antrim North Woodburn Reservoir, Co. Antrim Straid Lake, Co. Antrim Tildarg Fishery, Co. Antrim Craigavon Lakes, Co. Armagh Ballydugan Lake, Co. Down Carrickmannon Lake, Co. Down Lough Cowey, Co. Down Dairy Fishery Pond, Co. Down Kernan Lake, Co. Down Magheralagan Lake, Co. Down Tonaghmore Reservoir, Co. Down Trench Farm Pond, Co. Down Altmore Fishery, Co. Tyrone Aughadarragh Fishery, Co. Tyrone

⁽a) 1966 c. 17 (N.I.) (b) S.R. & O. (N.I.) 1969 No. 91

Dungannon Park Lake, Co. Tyrone Ballyrashane Reservoir, Co. Londonderry Gauger's Inn Fishery Lake, Co. Londonderry

Lough Cowey

3. In Byelaw 3 of the Coarse Fishing Rod Licence Byelaws (Northern Ireland) 1986(a) the word "Cowey" when it occurs shall be deleted.

Revocation

4. The Rainbow Trout Waters Byelaws (Northern Ireland) 1988(b) are hereby revoked.

Sealed with the Common Seal of the Fisheries Conservancy Board for Northern Ireland on 22nd August 1989.

(L.S.) R. T. Jordan

Chairman

(L.S.) R. G. Weaver

Secretary

The Department of Agriculture hereby approves the foregoing Byelaws.

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department of Agriculture on 22nd August 1989.

(L.S.) L. Sinclair

Assistant Secretary

⁽a) S.R. 1986 No. 110

⁽b) S.R. 1988 No. 386

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Byelaws.)

These Byelaws designate a number of waters as rainbow trout waters for the purposes of Byelaw 51 of the Fisheries Consolidated, Amendment and Licence Duties Byelaws (Northern Ireland) 1969 which provides that there shall be no close season for angling for rainbow trout in waters so designated.

These Byelaws differ from the previous Byelaws in that the following waters are no longer designated: Ballymacashon Lake, Co. Down, Ballymartin Lough, Co. Down, Darkley Lake, Co. Armagh, Henderson's Lake, Co. Londonderry, Holybank Bleachworks Dam, Belfast, Lower Quoile Reservoir, Co. Down, Montalto Lake, Co. Down, Mossley Mill Pond, Co. Antrim, Peppers Lake, Co. Down, Warrenpoint Waterworks Reservoir, Co. Down and the following have been added and thus designated as rainbow trout waters: Altmore Fishery, Co. Tyrone, Ballydugan Lake, Co. Down, Ballyrashane Reservoir, Co. Londonderry, Carrickmannon Lake, Co. Down, Lough Cowey, Co. Down, Cranogue Fishery, Co. Antrim, Dairy Fishery Pond, Co. Down, Dalways Lake, Co. Antrim, Dungannon Park Lake, Co. Tyrone, Magheralagan Lake, Co. Down, Tildarg Fishery, Co. Antrim.

These Byelaws also amend the Coarse Fishing Rod Licence Byelaws so that Lough Cowey is no longer designated as a coarse fishery.