2002 No. 401

LAND REGISTRATION

Compulsory Registration of Title (No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2002

18th December 2002 1st May 2003 Coming into operation

The Department of Finance and Personnel, in exercise of the powers conferred on it by section 25(1) of the Land Registration Act (Northern Ireland) 1970(a) and now vested in it(b) and of every other power enabling it in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Compulsory Registration of Title (No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2002 and shall come into operation on 1st May 2003.
- (2) In this Order "local government district" means a local government district constituted by the Local Government (Boundaries) Order (Northern Ireland) 1992(c).

Compulsory registration area

2. It is hereby declared that the local government districts listed in column (1) of the Schedule to the extent that they fall within the County or the County Borough specified opposite thereto in column (2) shall be compulsory registration areas for the purposes of entry $2(\mathbf{d})$ in Part I of Schedule 2 to the Land Registration Act (Northern Ireland) 1970 from 1st May 2003.

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department of Finance and Personnel on 18th December 2002.

D. Sterling (L.S.)

A senior officer of the Department of Finance and Personnel

¹⁹⁷⁰ c. 18 (N.I.) as amended by S.I. 1992/811 (N.I. 7) Art. 11

The powers were transferred by the Department of Finance to the Department of the Environment by S.I. 1982/338 (N.I. 6) Art. 5(b) and Sch. 1 Part II and were transferred from the Department of the Environment to the Department of Finance and Personnel by S.R. 1999 No. 481 Art 6(b) and Sch. 4 Part II S.R. 1992 No. 303

⁽c) S.R. 1992 No. 303 (d) Entry 2 has been amended by S.I. 1992/811 (N.I. 7) Art. 51 and Sch. 1 paras 2(1) and 4(8)

SCHEDULE

Column (1)	Column (2)	
Local Government District	County or County Borough(a)	
Belfast	Down	
Coleraine	Antrim	
Moyle		
Larne		
Ballymoney		
Ballymena		
Antrim		
Newtownabbey		
Carrickfergus		
Lisburn		
Craigavon		
Belfast		
Belfast	Belfast	

⁽a) As constituted under the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898 (1898 c. 37)

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order.)

This Order declares certain areas to be compulsory registration areas under the Land Registration (Northern Ireland) Act 1970 upon the commencement of this Order on 1st May 2003. These areas are County Antrim, the County Borough of Belfast and the remaining part of County Down not already declared to be such an area. The type of property transaction which triggers a compulsory registration within that area is defined by entry 2 of Schedule 2 to the aforesaid Act.

This is the last in the series of Compulsory Registration Orders which declares the remaining part of Northern Ireland to be a compulsory first registration area. The whole of Northern Ireland will be a Compulsory Registration area upon the commencement of this order.

£1.75

Published by The Stationery Office Limited

Printed in the UK by The
Stationery Office Limited
under the authority and
superintendence of Carol
Tullo, Controller of
Her Majesty's Stationery
Office being the Government
Printer for Northern Ireland and
the Officer appointed to print the
Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly
Dd. N688. C2. 1/03. Gp. 130. 14567.

