EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These regulations are made under sections 15 to 17 and 24 of the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provision) Act (Northern Ireland) 2010 (the 2010 Act). They make provision for the establishment of, and functions of, statutory transition committees of new councils.

Regulations 2 to 9 provide for the establishment and membership of statutory transition committees for each new council. Regulation 5 provides for the membership of a committee to consist of not more than 16 members with the exception of the committee for the new council of Causeway Coast and Glens and Belfast, which shall have no more than 20 and 25 members respectively. This regulation also provides for two councillors of Castlereagh Borough Council and two councillors of Lisburn City Council to be members of the committee for the new council of Belfast.

Regulation 10 sets out the procedure of statutory transition committees and provides for the election of a chairperson and vice-chairperson.

Regulations 11 to 14 provide for an existing council to make a payment to a member of its council who is also a statutory transition committee member, by way of an allowance for, or in relation to anything done in connection with, their service on that committee. Regulation 12 provides that any amount paid to a committee member shall not exceed £2,700 per annum and shall be the same paid by that existing council to each of its members.

Regulation 15 provides for predecessor councils to provide premises and facilities to statutory transition committees and provides for the costs of a committee to be paid by its predecessor councils proportionately based on the number of councillors from the predecessor council.

Regulations 16 to 18 confer functions on statutory transition committees, which provide for the-

- gathering of information;
- preparation of Corporate and Business Plans;
- preparation of draft budgets;
- arrangement of the first meeting; and
- appointment of a clerk,
- for each of the new councils.

Regulations 19 and 20 provide for the cooperation between existing councils and statutory transition committees.

Regulation 21 provides for a statutory transition committee to cease to exist 28 calendar days after the date of the next local government election.

Regulations 22 and 23 apply certain provisions of local government legislation to statutory transition committees.