STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2020 No. 254

PUBLIC HEALTH

The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Amendment No. 21) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2020

Made--13th November 2020at 4.00 a.m. on 14thComing into operationNovember 2020

The Department of Health(1) makes the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 25B and 25F(2) of the Public Health Act (Northern Ireland) 1967(2).

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Amendment No. 21) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2020 and shall come into operation at 4.00 am on 14th November 2020.

(2) In these Regulations, "the principal Regulations" means the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2020(**3**).

Amendment of the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2020

2.—(1) The principal Regulations are amended in accordance with regulation 3.

(2) In relation to any person who arrived in Northern Ireland on or after 10th July 2020 and before the coming into operation of any amendment made by regulation 3 the principal Regulations apply as if that amendment had not been made.

Amendments to Schedule 3

- 3. In Schedule 3 (Exempt countries, territories and parts of countries or territories)—
 - (a) for "Greece" substitute "The Greek Islands of Corfu, Cos, Crete, Rhodes and Zakynthos";

⁽¹⁾ Formerly the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety; see 2016 c. 5 (N.I.), s. 1(5)

^{(2) 1967} c. 36 (N.I.). Part 1A was inserted by section 48 of, and Schedule 18 to, the Coronavirus Act 2020 (c. 7)

⁽³⁾ S.R. 2020 No. 90 as amended by S.R. 2020 Nos. 138, 140, 154, 155, 163, 168, 179, 185, 189, 193, 194, 200, 203, 212, 216, 223, 228, 234, 241, 243 and 244

- (b) at the appropriate place in alphabetical order, insert "Bahrain", "Cambodia", "Chile", "Iceland", "Laos", "Qatar", "Turks and Caicos Islands" and "The United Arab Emirates"; and
- (c) omit "The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus".

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department of Health on 13th November 2020

(L.S.)

Lourda Geoghegan A senior officer of the Department of Health

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2020 ("the principal Regulations").

Bahrain, Cambodia, Chile, Iceland, Laos, Qatar, Turks and Caicos Islands and the United Arab Emirates are included within the list of countries and territories in Schedule 3 to the principal Regulations exempt from the requirement in regulation 4 of those Regulations to self-isolate for 14 days after arrival in Northern Ireland.

Greece, except for the islands of Corfu, Cos, Crete, Rhodes and Zakynthos and the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus are omitted from the list of countries and territories in Schedule 3 to the principal Regulations exempt from the requirement in regulation 4 of those Regulations to self-isolate for 14 days after arrival in Northern Ireland.

No impact assessment has been prepared for these Regulations.