## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

## (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to proposals made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland for the future electoral arrangements for the area of South Ayrshire Council. The area of South Ayrshire Council is divided into 8 electoral wards as described in the Schedule to the Order. The proposals follow on the review of the whole of Scotland undertaken by the Commission in terms review under section 4(1) of the Local Governance (Scotland) Act 2004. The Order applies only for the purposes of elections held after the coming into force of section 1 of that Act.

The Order describes the boundaries of the new electoral wards by means of data stored on a DVD-ROM. Copies of the DVD-ROM are to be deposited with and maps of the boundaries of the electoral wards are available (in hard copy or on-line) from the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland and South Ayrshire Council.