SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No. 67

ROAD TRAFFIC

The Ayr Road Route (M77) (Speed Limit) Amendment Regulations 2011

Made - - - - 8th February 2011
Laid before the Scottish
Parliament - - - 10th February 2011
Coming into force - 1st May 2011

The Scottish Ministers make the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by section 17(2) of the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984(1) and all other powers enabling them to do so. In accordance with section 134(2)(2) of that Act they have consulted such representative organisations as they think fit.

Citation and commencement

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Ayr Road Route (M77) (Speed Limit) Amendment Regulations 2011 and come into force on 1st May 2011.

Amendment of the Ayr Road Route (M77) (Speed Limit) Regulations 1996

- 2.—(1) The Ayr Road Route (M77) (Speed Limit) Regulations 1996(3) are amended as follows.
- (2) In Schedule 1—
 - (a) for paragraph 1 substitute—
 - "1. That length of the main carriageway of the special road from a point 248 metres or thereby south of the intersection of the western kerbline of the special road and the northern kerbline of the A726 Nitshill Road at the special road junction 3 (Nitshill) generally southwards for a distance of 5.12 kilometres or thereby."; and

^{(1) 1984} c.27. Section 17(2) was amended by the New Roads and Street Works Act 1991 (c.22), Schedule 8, paragraph 28, by the Road Traffic Act 1991 (c.40), Schedule 4, paragraph 25 and Schedule 8, paragraph 1 and by the National Parks (Scotland) Act 2000 (asp 10), Schedule 5, paragraph 11. The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scottish Ministers by the Scotland Act 1998 (Transfer of Functions to the Scottish Ministers etc.) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/1750), article 2 and Schedule 1. The Scottish Ministers are the traffic authority by virtue of section 121A of the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984 (inserted by the New Roads and Street Works Act 1991, Schedule 8, paragraph 70 and amended by the Scotland Act 1998 (Consequential Modifications) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/1400) as read with section 151(1) of the Roads (Scotland) Act 1984 (c.54))

⁽²⁾ Section 134(2) was amended by the New Roads and Street Works Act 1991, Schedule 8, paragraph 77.

⁽**3**) S.I. 1996/2863.

- (b) after paragraph 3 insert—
 - "4. That length of the special road comprising the connecting road which extends from a point 77 metres or thereby south of the extended south kerbline of the A726 Nitshill Road, measured along the most westerly kerbline of the connecting road, to its junction with the main southbound carriageway of the special road, a distance of 253 metres or thereby.
 - **5.** That length of the special road comprising the connecting road which extends from its junction with the main northbound carriageway of the special road to a point 67 metres or thereby east of the junction with the signalised roundabout within the Darnley Mains development, a distance of 415 metres or thereby."
- (3) In Schedule 2—
 - (a) for paragraph 1 substitute—
 - "1. That length of the main carriageway of the special road from a point 248 metres or thereby south of the intersection of the western kerbline of the special road and the northern kerbline of the A726 Nitshill Road at the special road junction 3 (Nitshill) northwards for a distance of 5.69 kilometres or thereby."; and
 - (b) omit paragraphs 11 and 13.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 8th February 2011

KEITH BROWN
Authorised to sign by the Scottish Ministers

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Ayr Road Route (M77) (Speed Limit) Regulations 1996 which regulate the speed on the M77 Motorway between Junction 1 (Dumbreck) and Junction 4 (Crookfur). The amendments increase the speed limit from 50mph to 60mph over 973 metres of the main carriageway and certain connecting roads of the M77 Motorway between Junction 3 and the boundary of Glasgow City Council and East Renfrewshire Council.