

Church Commissioners Measure 1970

1970 No. 3

A Measure passed by the National Assembly of the Church of England to provide for the appointment of Church Commissioners as additional members of the General Purposes Committee and the Assets Committee of the Church Commissioners. [17th December 1970]

1 Appointment of additional members of the General Purposes Committee and Assets Committee.

For paragraphs (a) and (b) of section 6(1) of the ^{M1}Church Commissioners Measure 1947, as amended by the ^{M2}Church Commissioners Measure 1964, there shall be substituted the following paragraphs—

- (a) the General Purposes Committee shall comprise the three Church Estates Commissioners and not less than eight nor more than ten other Comissioners appointed by the Board for three years, of whom at least two shall be diocesan bishops, at least three shall be clerks in holy orders other than diocesan bishops, and at least three shall be laymen;
- (b) the Assets Committee shall comprise the First Church Estates Commissioner, one Commissioner being a clerk in holy orders appointed for three years by the Board, and not less than three and not more than five lay Commissioners appointed for three years by the Archbishop of Canterbury being persons who in his opinion are well qualified to assist in the management of the assets of the Commissioners.

Modifications etc. (not altering text)

C1 The text of s. 1 is in the form in which it was originally enacted: it was not reproduced in Statutes in Force and does not reflect any amendments or repeals which may have been made prior to 1.2.1991.

Marginal Citations

- M1 1947 No. 2.
- M2 1964 No. 8.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Church Commissioners Measure 1970. (See end of Document for details)

2 Short title.

This Measure may be cited as the Church Commissioners Measure 1970.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Church Commissioners Measure 1970.