#### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 2008 No.

## The Northumberland (Structural Change) Order 2008

#### PART 2

# ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN NORTHUMBERLAND

#### Abolition of districts and winding up and dissolution of district councils

- **4.** On 1st April 2009—
  - (a) the following local government areas shall be abolished—
    - (i) the borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed,
    - (ii) the borough of Blyth Valley,
    - (iii) the borough of Castle Morpeth,
    - (iv) the district of Alnwick,
    - (v) the district of Tynedale, and
    - (vi) the district of Wansbeck; and
  - (b) the following councils shall be wound up and dissolved—
    - (i) Berwick-upon-Tweed Borough Council,
    - (ii) Blyth Valley Borough Council,
    - (iii) Castle Morpeth Borough Council,
    - (iv) Alnwick District Council,
    - (v) Tynedale District Council, and
    - (vi) Wansbeck District Council.