DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No.

The Cheshire West and Chester (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cheshire West and Chester (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Cheshire West and Chester (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Cheshire West and Chester and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Cheshire West and Chester are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into forty-six wards each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Neston and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Neston are abolished.

(2) The parish is divided into five wards named respectively—

- (a) Little Neston;
- (b) Ness;

 ¹⁹⁸³ c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

- (c) Neston;
- (d) Parkgate;
- (e) Riverside.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Four councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Little Neston;
 - (b) Neston;
 - (c) Parkgate;
 - (d) Riverside.
- (5) One councillor is to be elected for Ness ward.

Wards of the parish of Northwich and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Northwich are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into five wards named respectively—
 - (a) Northwich Bridge;
 - (b) Northwich Greenbank;
 - (c) Northwich Leftwich;
 - (d) Northwich Winnington;
 - (e) Northwich Witton.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Northwich Bridge ward.
- (5) Five councillors are to be elected for Northwich Witton ward.
- (6) Four councillors are to be elected for Northwich Leftwich ward.
- (7) Three councillors are to be elected for Northwich Greenbank ward.
- (8) Two councillors are to be elected for Northwich Winnington ward.

Wards of the parish of Winsford and number of councillors

6.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Winsford are abolished.

- (2) The parish is divided into six wards named respectively—
 - (a) Winsford Dene;
 - (b) Winsford Gravel;
 - (c) Winsford Over;
 - (d) Winsford Swanlow;
 - (e) Winsford Verdin;
 - (f) Winsford Wharton.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Three councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Winsford Over;
 - (b) Winsford Swanlow;
 - (c) Winsford Verdin.

- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Winsford Dene;
 - (b) Winsford Gravel;
 - (c) Winsford Wharton.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the day of

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England