DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No.

The Three Rivers (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Three Rivers (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) Articles 1 to 4 and 6 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 17th February 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014.
- (3) Articles 5, 7 and 8 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Three Rivers (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Three Rivers and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Three Rivers are abolished.
- (2) The district of Three Rivers is divided into 13 district wards, each listed by name in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
 - (4) Three councillors are to be elected for each district ward.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Elections of the council of the district of Three Rivers

4.—(1) Elections of all councillors of each ward of the district of Three Rivers are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014.

^{(1) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

- (2) The councillors holding office for any ward of the district of Three Rivers immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014 are to retire on that date and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that date.
- (3) Of the councillors elected on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014 for any ward of the district of Three Rivers, one is to retire in 2015 and one in 2016.
- (4) Subject to paragraphs (5) and (6), of the councillors elected on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014 for any ward of the district of Three Rivers—
 - (a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
 - (b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire that year is to be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.
- (7) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

Wards of the parish of Abbots Langley and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Abbots Langley are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into five parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the first table in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Chorleywood and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Chorleywood are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the second table in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Croxley Green and number of councillors

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Croxley Green are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in the second column of the third table in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Watford Rural and number of councillors

- **8.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Watford Rural are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into five parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in the second column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England