EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008 (c. 7) provides that Northern Ireland will be divided into 11 local government districts, rather than the existing 26 local government districts. The Local Government (Boundaries) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012 (S.R. 2012/421) sets out the names and areas of each of those 11 new local government districts and establishes new wards for each district.

Consequent on the making of S.R. 2012/421, the Secretary of State appointed a District Electoral Areas Commissioner under article 2(4) of the District Electoral Areas Commissioner (Northern Ireland) Order 1984 (S.I. 1984/360). That Commissioner was required to submit a report to the Secretary of State setting out his recommendations for the grouping together of wards into electoral areas for the purpose of local government elections in each local government district. On [date], the Commissioner's report was laid before Parliament under article 5 of S.I. 1984/360. A copy of the Commissioner's report can be obtained from the Northern Ireland Office, Constitutional Policy Team, 1 Horse Guards Road, London, SW1A 2HQ.

This Order gives effect, without modification, to the recommendations of the Commissioner. Article 2 and the Schedule set out the name of, the wards comprised in, and the number of councillors to be elected for, each district electoral area. Article 3 revokes the District Electoral Areas (Northern Ireland) Order 1993 (S.I. 1993/226).

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.