### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2014 No.

# The South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

#### 2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

## Wards of the district of South Ribble and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Ribble are abolished.
- (2) The district of South Ribble is divided into 23 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

## Wards of the parish of Farington and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Farington are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Farington is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

<sup>(1) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

## Wards of the parish of Hutton and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Hutton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Hutton is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

### Wards of the parish of Longton and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Longton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Longton is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

#### Wards of the parish of Penwortham and number of councillors

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Penwortham are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Penwortham is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date