Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. ****

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - - ***

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated August 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Canterbury. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of Canterbury and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Canterbury are abolished.
- (2) The district of Canterbury is divided into 21 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Harbledown & Rough Common and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The parish of Harbledown & Rough Common is divided into two parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Harbledown;
 - (b) Rough Common.
- (2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
 - (3) Four councillors are to be elected for Harbledown parish ward.
 - (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Rough Common parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

SCHEDULE Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Barton	3	
Beltinge	2	
Blean Forest	3	
Chartham & Stone Street	2	
Chestfield	2	
Gorrell	3	
Greenhill	1	
Herne & Broomfield	2	
Heron	3	
Little Stour & Adisham	1	
Nailbourne	1	
Northgate	2	
Reculver	1	
Seasalter	2	
St Stephen's	2	
Sturry	2	
Swalecliffe	1	
Tankerton	1	
West Bay	1	
Westgate	2	
Wincheap	2	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Canterbury, which is a non-metropolitan district with city status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral

changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Canterbury and replaces them with 21 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 creates wards in the parish of Harbledown & Rough Common, which was formerly unwarded. That article and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at [insert link]. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Canterbury City Council, Council Offices, Military Road, Canterbury and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.