EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the county of West Sussex following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the county remains unchanged. The electoral changes in article 3 apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017. The electoral changes in articles 4 to 9 apply in respect of such elections in 2019. The electoral changes in article 10 apply in respect of such elections in 2020.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral divisions of the county of West Sussex and replaces them with 70 new ones. That article together with the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors, of the new electoral divisions.

Articles 4 to 10 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of Ansty & Staplefield, Bognor Regis, Burgess Hill, Chichester, Littlehampton, North Horsham and Lancing respectively and replace them with new ones. Those articles together with the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map shows the area of the new county electoral divisions and parish wards and is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-east/west-sussex/west-sussex-county-council It is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.