Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

#### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2017 No.

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The South Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - \*\*\*
Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act"), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated October 2016 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of South Cambridgeshire. The Commission has decided to give effect to those recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(3) in 2018.

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (1983 c. 2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (1985 c. 50).

#### Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

#### Wards of the district of South Cambridgeshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Cambridgeshire are abolished.
- (2) The district of South Cambridgeshire is divided into 26 wards as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected to each ward is the number specified by the entry in the second column of the table in the Schedule which relates to that ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commissions for
England

Date

<sup>(4)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/eastern/cambridgeshire/south-cambridgeshire

## SCHEDULE Article 3

### Names of district wards and number of councillors

## Wards of the district of South Cambridgeshire

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Balsham	1
Bar Hill	1
Barrington	1
Bassingbourn	1
Caldecote	1
Cambourne	3
Caxton & Papworth	2
Cottenham	2
Duxford	1
Fen Ditton & Fulbourn	3
Foxton	1
Gamlingay	1
Girton	2
Hardwick	1
Harston & Comberton	3
Histon & Impington	3
Linton	2
Longstanton	2
Melbourn	2
Milton & Waterbeach	3
Over & Willingham	2
Sawston	2
Shelford	2
Swavesey	1
The Mordens	1
Whittlesford	1

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of South Cambridgeshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The changes which article 3 introduces begin to apply to local government elections in 2018.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards comprising the district of South Cambridgeshire and provides that South Cambridgeshire is divided into 26 wards. The Schedule specifies the names of those wards and the respective number of councillors for each of them.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/eastern/cambridgeshire/south-cambridgeshire.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.