Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Teignbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - - ***

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act"), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) ("the Commission") published a report dated January 2017 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Teignbridge. The Commission has decided to give effect to those recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Teignbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
 - (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(c) in 2019.

⁽a) 2009 c.20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽c) The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Teignbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(a).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of Teignbridge and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Teignbridge are abolished.
- (2) The district of Teignbridge is divided into 24 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Dawlish, Haccombe with Combe, Hennock, Newton Abbot and Teignmouth

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Dawlish, Haccombe with Combe, Hennock, Newton Abbot and Teignmouth are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Dawlish is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Haccombe with Combe is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Hennock is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Newton Abbot is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Teignmouth is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (8) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the Seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date

⁽a) Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/devon/teignbridge

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

Wards of the district of Teignbridge

(1)	(2)	
Name of ward	Number of councillors	
Ambrook	2	
Ashburton & Buckfastleigh	3	
Bishopsteignton	1	
Bovey	3	
Bradley	2	
Buckland & Milber	3	
Bushell	2	
Chudleigh	2	
College	2	
Dawlish North East	3	
Dawlish South West	2	
Haytor	1	
Ipplepen	1	
Kenn Valley	3	
Kenton & Starcross	1	
Kerswell-with-Combe	2	
Kingsteignton East	2	
Kingsteignton West	2	
Moretonhampstead	1	
Shaldon & Stokeinteignhead	1	
Teign Valley	2	
Teignmouth Central	2	
Teignmouth East	2	
Teignmouth West	2	

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Dawlish

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
North East	9
South West	6
Teignmouth Road	1

Table 2
Wards of the parish of Haccombe with Combe

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Hawthorn	2
Rural	6

Urban 2

Table 3
Wards of the parish of Hennock

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Chudleigh Knighton	8
Hennock Village	3

Table 4
Wards of the Parish of Newton Abbot

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Bradley	4
Brunel	1
Buckland & Milber	5
Bushell	4
College	4

Table 5
Wards of the parish of Teignmouth

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Central	4
East	3
Rowdens	1
West	4

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Teignbridge following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district of Teignbridge remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of Teignbridge and replaces them with 24 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/devon/teignbridge

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

© Crown copyright 2017

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Jeff James, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

ISBN 978-0-11-115885-2

£4.25

UK201707121001 07/2017 19585