DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No.

The North Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Citation, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the North Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2019.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the North Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of North Norfolk and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of North Norfolk are abolished.
- (2) The district of North Norfolk is divided into 32 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Cromer, Fakenham, North Walsham and Sheringham

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Cromer, Fakenham, North Walsham and Sheringham are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Cromer is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Fakenham is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/eastern/norfolk/north-norfolk

- (4) The parish of North Walsham is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Sheringham is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (7) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the Seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date