DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No.

The Rotherham (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Citation, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Rotherham (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 1st October 2019:
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2020(2).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Rotherham (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(3).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Rotherham and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Rotherham are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Rotherham is divided into 25 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Aston cum Aughton, Bramley, Dalton, Dinnington St John's, Maltby, Orgreave and Wickersley

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Aston cum Aughton, Bramley, Dalton, Dinnington St John's, Maltby, Orgreave and Wickersley are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Aston cum Aughton is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

⁽²⁾ See S.I. 2015/884 which established the existing four-yearly cycle of whole council elections for the borough of Rotherham, and made similar provision in respect of all parishes within the borough.

⁽³⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London, SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at Local Government Boundary Commission for England

- (3) The parish of Bramley is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Dalton is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Dinnington St John's is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Maltby is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Orgreave is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Wickersley is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 7 in Schedule 2.
- (9) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (10) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date