DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No.

The Bournemouth, Dorset and Poole (Structural Changes) Order 2018

PART 2

ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN BOURNEMOUTH, CHRISTCHURCH AND POOLE

Single tier local government in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

3.—(1) A new non-metropolitan county and a new non-metropolitan district, each to be known as Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole, are constituted comprising (in each case) the areas of the districts of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole.

(2) In relation to the county of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole, section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) does not apply.

(3) A new district council, to be known as Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council, is established as the sole principal authority for the non-metropolitan district of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole.

(4) Except for the purposes of Part 5 of this Order (electoral matters: Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council), until 1st April 2019—

- (a) Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council is not a local authority for the purposes of the 1972 Act or for any other enactment relating to local government; and
- (b) subsection (2) of section 2 of the 1972 Act (constitution of principal councils in England) has effect in relation to that council, as if the words from "and the council" to the end of that subsection were omitted.