SCHEDULE 1

Regulation 108

Approval of Equivalent Third Countries and Transitional Third Countries

Equivalent third countries

1.—(1) The countries determined by the European Commission immediately before exit day as having an equivalent system of audit inspections, investigations and sanctions to those in the European Union by virtue of an instrument adopted under Article 46(2) of Directive 2006/43/ EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 17 May 2006 on statutory audits of annual accounts and consolidated accounts, amending Council Directives 78/660/EEC and 83/349/EEC and repealing Council Directive 84/253/EEC, are approved as equivalent third countries for financial years beginning on or after exit day, and are listed in column 1 of Table 1 of this Schedule.

(2) Approval is granted for the same period as that for which the European Commission granted equivalence, which is for an indefinite period unless a date is recorded in column 2 of the Table against a country's name, in which case the approval ceases to apply for financial years beginning after that date.

Transitional third countries

2.—(1) EEA States and Gibraltar are approved as transitional third countries for financial years beginning on or after exit day, and are listed in column 1 of Table 2 of this Schedule.

(2) Approval is granted such that the approval ceases to apply for financial years beginning after the date recorded in column 2 of the Table.

Equivalent third country	Date of last day of approval	
Abu Dhabi		
Australia		
Brazil		
Canada		
China		
Dubai International Financial Centre		
Guernsey		
Indonesia		
Isle of Man		
Japan		
Jersey		
Malaysia		
Mauritius		
New Zealand		
Singapore		
South Africa		

Table 1

Equivalent third country	Date of last day of approval	
South Korea		
Switzerland		
Taiwan		
Thailand		
Turkey		
The United States of America	31 July 2022	

Table 2

Transitional third country	Date of last day of approval	
Austria	31 December 2020	
Belgium	31 December 2020	
Bulgaria	31 December 2020	
Croatia	31 December 2020	
Cyprus	31 December 2020	
Czech Republic	31 December 2020	
Denmark	31 December 2020	
Estonia	31 December 2020	
Finland	31 December 2020	
France	31 December 2020	
Germany	31 December 2020	
Gibraltar	31 December 2020	
Greece	31 December 2020	
Hungary	31 December 2020	
Iceland	31 December 2020	
Ireland	31 December 2020	
Italy	31 December 2020	
Latvia	31 December 2020	
Liechtenstein	31 December 2020	
Lithuania	31 December 2020	
Luxembourg	31 December 2020	
Malta	31 December 2020	
Netherlands	31 December 2020	
Norway	31 December 2020	
Poland	31 December 2020	

Transitional third country	Date of last day of approval
Portugal	31 December 2020
Romania	31 December 2020
Slovakia	31 December 2020
Slovenia	31 December 2020
Spain	31 December 2020
Sweden	31 December 2020