DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2022 No.

The Amber Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Citation, commencement, extent and application

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Amber Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.

- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2022.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force-
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2022;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Amber Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**2**).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Amber Valley and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Amber Valley are abolished(**3**).

(2) The borough of Amber Valley is divided into the 18 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Belper, Heanor & Loscoe and Ripley and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Belper, Heanor & Loscoe and Ripley are abolished.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/amber-valley.

⁽³⁾ At a meeting that took place on 13th November 2019, Amber Valley Borough Council resolved to change its electoral cycle from electing by thirds to full-council elections, beginning in 2023. The minutes of the meeting may be accessed at https://info.ambervalley.gov.uk/WebServices/AVBCFeeds/DemocracyJSON.asmx/StreamCommitteeDoc, or available upon request from Amber Valley Borough Council, Town Hall, Ripley, Derbyshire DE5 3BT.

(2) The parish of Belper is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Heanor & Loscoe is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Ripley is divided into the ten parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(6) The number of parish councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date