

# London Government Act 1963

## **1963 CHAPTER 33**

#### **PART IX**

MISCELLANEOUS AND GENERAL

### Miscellaneous

## 76 Adjustment to metropolitan police district

- (1) As from 1st April 1965, the metropolitan police district shall consist of the following areas, that is to say—
  - (a) Greater London, excluding the City of London, the Inner Temple and the Middle Temple;
  - (b) in the county of Essex, the urban districts of Chigwell and Waltham Holy Cross;
  - (c) in the county of Hertfordshire, the urban districts of Bushey, Cheshunt and Potters Bar, the rural district of Elstree, and the parishes of Northaw in the rural district of Hatfield and Aldenham in the rural district of Watford;
  - (d) in the county of Surrey, the borough of Epsom and Ewell, and the urban districts of Banstead, Esher, Staines and Sunbury-on-Thames,

and section 16 of, and Schedule 4 to, the Police Act 1946 shall cease to have effect.

(2) This section and the Metropolitan Police Acts 1829 to 1959 may be cited together as the Metropolitan Police Acts 1829 to 1963 and this section shall be construed as one with those Acts.