

Licensing Act 1964

1964 CHAPTER 26

PART I

THE GENERAL LICENSING SYSTEM

Justices' licences and provisions as to licensing justices

2 Licensing justices and districts

- (1) The licensing districts for the purposes of this Act shall be—
 - (a) in the administrative county of London, the City of London and each of the petty-sessional divisions of the rest of the administrative county;
 - (b) outside the administrative county of London, every borough having a separate commission of the peace and every other petty sessions area.
- (2) The licensing justices shall be—
 - (a) for the City of London, a committee of the justices for the City;
 - (b) for a borough having a separate commission of the peace, a committee of the borough justices (which shall be known as the borough licensing committee);
 - (c) for any other petty sessions area, a committee (which shall be known as the divisional licensing committee) of the county justices acting for that area or, if the county is not divided into petty-sessional divisions, of the county justices.
- (3) For the purpose of carrying out their functions under this Act the licensing justices for each district shall hold licensing sessions as follows, that is to say.—
 - (a) a general annual licensing meeting, and
 - (b) not less than four nor more than eight transfer sessions,
 - in the twelve months beginning with February in every year.
- (4) Except where this Act otherwise provides, all powers exercisable by licensing justices under this Act may be exercised at any licensing sessions, but this subsection shall not affect the operation of any enactment in so far as it expressly authorises licensing justices to act otherwise than at a licensing sessions.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

(5) Part I of Schedule 1 to this Act shall have effect with respect to the constitution and procedure of licensing committees and Part II thereof with respect to the holding of licensing sessions.