

## Restrictive Practices Court Act 1976

## **1976 CHAPTER 33**

## **2** Judges of the Court

- (1) The nominated judges of the Court shall be—
  - (a) three puisne judges of the High Court nominated by the Lord Chancellor;
  - (b) one judge of the Court of Session nominated by the Lord President of that Court;
  - (c) one judge of the Supreme Court of Northern Ireland nominated by the Lord Chief Justice of Northern Ireland.
- (2) A judge of any court who is nominated under this section shall not be required to sit in any place outside the jurisdiction of that court, and shall be required to perform his duties as a judge of that court only when his attendance on the Restrictive Practices Court is not required.
- (3) In the case of the temporary absence or inability to act of a nominated judge, the Lord Chancellor, the Lord President of the Court of Session, or the Lord Chief Justice of Northern Ireland (as the case may be) may nominate another judge of the same court to act temporarily in his place, and a judge so nominated shall, when so acting, have all the functions of the judge in whose place he acts.
- (4) No judge shall be nominated under this section except with his consent.