

# Justices of the Peace Act 1979

## **1979 CHAPTER 55**

## PART I

## GENERAL

Areas and commissions of the peace

## 1 Commission areas

There shall in England and Wales be a commission of the peace for the following areas (in this Act referred to as " commission areas ") and no others, that is to say—

- (a) every county;
- (b) every London commission area ; and
- (c) the City of London.

## 2 London commission areas

(1) Subject to the provisions of section 3 of this Act, the following areas of Greater London, that is to say—

- (a) an area to be known as the " inner London area ", consisting of the inner London boroughs ;
- (b) an area to be known as the "north-east London area ", consisting of the London boroughs of Barking, Havering, Newham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest;
- (c) an area to be known as the " south-east London area ", consisting of the London boroughs of Bexley, Bromley and Croydon;
- (d) an area to be known as the " south-west London area ", consisting of the London boroughs of Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Richmond upon Thames and Sutton; and
- (e) an area to be known as the "Middlesex area ", consisting of the London boroughs of Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Hillingdon and Hounslow,

are in this Act referred to as "London commission areas ", and the areas specified in paragraphs (b) to (e) above are in this Act referred to as the " outer London areas ".

- (2) Subject to the provisions of this Act, a London commission area shall be deemed to be a non-metropolitan county for all purposes of the law relating to commissions of the peace, justices of the peace, magistrates' courts, magistrates' courts committees, the keeper of the rolls, justices' clerks and matters connected with any of those matters; and references to a county in any enactment passed or instrument made before the 10th June 1964, and references to a non-metropolitan county in any enactment or instrument as amended or modified by or under the Local Government Act 1972, shall be construed accordingly.
- (3) Subsection (2) above shall not apply to any enactment (including any enactment contained in this Act) to which apart from this subsection it would apply and which expressly refers in the same context both—
  - (a) to a county or counties or to a non-metropolitan county or non-metropolitan counties, and
  - (b) to a London commission area or London commission areas or any of those areas ;

and the generality of subsection (2) above shall not be taken to be prejudiced by any enactment to which by virtue of this subsection that subsection does not apply.

#### **3** Power to adjust London commission areas

- (1) Her Majesty may by Order in Council substitute for any one or more of the areas specified in section 2(1) above any other area or areas comprising the whole or part of Greater London, or alter the boundaries of any area so specified; but the City of London shall not by virtue of any such Order be included in a London commission area.
- (2) An Order in Council made under this section may contain such incidental, consequential, transitional or supplementary provisions as may be necessary or expedient for the purposes of the Order (including provisions amending this Act or any other enactment).
- (3) Any statutory instrument made by virtue of this section shall be subject to annulment in pursuance of a resolution of either House of Parliament.

#### 4 Petty sessions areas

- (1) The following areas outside Greater London are petty sessions areas, that is to say-
  - (a) every non-metropolitan county which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
  - (b) every petty sessional division of a non-metropolitan county;
  - (c) every metropolitan district which is not divided into petty sessional divisions; and
  - (d) every petty sessional division of a metropolitan district.
- (2) In the following provisions of this Act " petty sessions area " means any of the following, that is to say—
  - (a) any of the areas outside Greater London specified in subsection (1) above;

- (b) any London commission area which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
- (c) any petty sessional division of a London commission area; and
- (d) the City of London.

#### 5 General form of commissions of the peace

- (1) The commission of the peace for any commission area shall be a commission under the Great Seal addressed generally, and not by name, to all such persons as may from time to time hold office as justices of the peace for the commission area.
- (2) A commission of the peace issued after the commencement of this Act shall be framed so as to take account of the abolition of courts of quarter sessions by section 3 of the Courts Act 1971.