

# Justices of the Peace Act 1979

## **1979 CHAPTER 55**

#### **PART I**

### **GENERAL**

Areas and commissions of the peace

## 4 Petty sessions areas

- (1) The following areas outside Greater London are petty sessions areas, that is to say—
  - (a) every non-metropolitan county which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
  - (b) every petty sessional division of a non-metropolitan county;
  - (c) every metropolitan district which is not divided into petty sessional divisions; and
  - (d) every petty sessional division of a metropolitan district.
- (2) In the following provisions of this Act " petty sessions area " means any of the following, that is to say—
  - (a) any of the areas outside Greater London specified in subsection (1) above;
  - (b) any London commission area which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
  - (c) any petty sessional division of a London commission area; and
  - (d) the City of London.