Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 6

THE MILLENNIUM COMMISSION

Membership

- 1 (1) The Millennium Commission shall consist of nine members appointed by Her Majesty on the recommendation of the Prime Minister, of whom—
 - (a) two shall be Ministers of the Crown, and
 - (b) one shall be a person nominated by the Leader of the Opposition.
 - (2) Her Majesty shall, on the recommendation of the Prime Minister, appoint one of the members who are Ministers of the Crown to be chairman.
 - (3) In this paragraph "the Leader of the Opposition" means the member of the House of Commons who is the leader in that House of the party in opposition to Her Majesty's Government that has the greatest numerical strength in that House.
 - (4) If any doubt arises (whether in relation to this paragraph or in relation to paragraph 5) as to—
 - (a) who is or was the Leader of the Opposition at any time, or
 - (b) which is or was the party in opposition to Her Majesty's Government that has or had the greatest numerical strength in the House of Commons at any time,

the question shall be decided by the Speaker of the House of Commons, whose decision shall be final.

- 2 (1) Subject to sub-paragraph (2), after 31st December 2000 the Secretary of State may by order—
 - (a) reduce the total number of members of the Millennium Commission for the time being specified in paragraph 1(1);
 - (b) substitute the following for paragraph 1(1)(a)—
 - "(a) one shall be a Minister of the Crown, and".
 - (2) An order under sub-paragraph (1) shall not—
 - (a) reduce the total number of members of the Millennium Commission to less than three, or
 - (b) result in more than one third of the members being Ministers of the Crown.