

Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994

1994 CHAPTER 29

PART IV

MAGISTRATES' COURTS

Inner London area

81 Division of work in inner London area

After section 34 of the 1979 Act there shall be inserted—

"34A Division of work in inner London area

- (1) There shall be established for the purposes of this section a committee consisting of the following members—
 - (a) the chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate,
 - (b) six lay justices appointed by the chairmen of the petty sessional divisions of the inner London area, and
 - (c) six metropolitan stipendiary magistrates appointed by the chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate.
- (2) The lay justices eligible for appointment under paragraph (b) of subsection (1) above include any of the chairmen referred to in that paragraph.
- (3) The members of the committee shall hold office for a period of twelve months, but shall be eligible for re-appointment.
- (4) The chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate shall be the chairman of the committee.
- (5) It shall be the duty of the committee—
 - (a) to keep under consideration the division of work in the inner London area between the metropolitan stipendiary magistrates and the lay justices, and

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

(b) to give general directions to any magistrates' courts committee for any area which consists of or includes the whole or any part of the inner London area as to the division of the work."