Status: Point in time view as at 25/06/1997. Changes to legislation: Police Act 1996, SCHEDULE 1 is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 26 July 2024. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Changes that have been made appear in the content and are referenced with annotations. (See end of Document for details)

$S\,C\,H\,E\,D\,U\,L\,E\,S$

SCHEDULE 1

Section 1.

POLICE AREAS

England (except London)

Name of police area	Extent
Avon and Somerset	The county of Somerset and the non- metropolitan districts of Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, North West Somerset and South Gloucestershire
Bedfordshire	The county of Bedfordshire and the non- metropolitan district of Luton
Cambridgeshire	The county of Cambridgeshire
Cheshire	The county of Cheshire
Cleveland	The non-metropolitan districts of Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees
Cumbria	The county of Cumbria
Derbyshire	The county of Derbyshire and the non- metropolitan district of Derby
Devon and Cornwall	The counties of Devon and Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly
Dorset	The county of Dorset and the non- metropolitan districts of Bournemouth and Poole
Durham	The county of Durham and the non- metropolitan district of Darlington
Essex	The county of Essex
Gloucestershire	The county of Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester	The metropolitan districts of Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan
Hampshire	The counties of Hampshire and Isle of Wight and the non-metropolitan districts of Portsmouth and Southampton
Hertfordshire	The county of Hertfordshire

Status: Point in time view as at 25/06/1997. Changes to legislation: Police Act 1996, SCHEDULE 1 is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 26 July 2024. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Changes that have been made appear in the content and are referenced with annotations. (See end of Document for details)

Humberside	The non-metropolitan districts of the East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston upon Hull, North East Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire
Kent	The county of Kent
Lancashire	The county of Lancashire
Leicestershire	The county of Leicestershire and the non- metropolitan districts of Leicester and Rutland
Lincolnshire	The county of Lincolnshire
Merseyside	The metropolitan districts of Knowsley, Liverpool, St. Helens, Sefton and Wirral
Norfolk	The county of Norfolk
Northamptonshire	The county of Northamptonshire
Northumbria	The county of Northumberland and the metropolitan districts of Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland
North Yorkshire	The county of North Yorkshire and the non- metropolitan district of York
Nottinghamshire	The county of Nottinghamshire
South Yorkshire	The metropolitan districts of Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield
Staffordshire	The county of Staffordshire and the non- metropolitan district of Stoke-on-Trent
Suffolk	The county of Suffolk
Surrey	The county of Surrey
Sussex	The counties of East Sussex and West Sussex and the non-metropolitan district of Brighton and Hove
Thames Valley	The counties of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire and the non-metropolitan district of Milton Keynes
Warwickshire	The county of Warwickshire
West Mercia	The counties of Hereford and Worcester and Shropshire
West Midlands	The metropolitan districts of Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton
West Yorkshire	The metropolitan districts of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield

Status: Point in time view as at 25/06/1997. Changes to legislation: Police Act 1996, SCHEDULE 1 is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 26 July 2024. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Changes that have been made appear in the content and are referenced with annotations. (See end of Document for details)

Wiltshire	The county of Wiltshire and the non- metropolitan district of Thamesdown	
Wales		
Name of police area	Extent	
Dyfed Powys	The counties of [^{F1} Ceredigion], Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Powys	
Gwent	The county of Monmouthshire and the county boroughs of Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Newport and Torfaen	
North Wales	[^{F2} The counties of the Isle of Anglesey, Gwynedd, Denbighshire and Flintshire and the county boroughs of Conwy and Wrexham.]	
South Wales	The counties of Cardiff and Swansea and the county boroughs of Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, [^{F3} Neath Port Talbot], Rhondda, Cynon, Taff and the Vale of Glamorgan	

Textual Amendments

F1 Word in entry in Sch. 1 substituted (25.6.1997) by 1997 c. 50, s. 129(b); S.I. 1997/1377, art. 2(2)(i)

F2 Entry in Sch. 1 substituted (25.6.1997) by 1997 c. 50, s. 129(c); S.I. 1997/1377, art. 2(2)(i)

F3 Words in entry in Sch. 1 substituted (25.6.1997) by 1997 c. 50, s. 129(d); S.I. 1997/1377, art. 2(2)(i)

Status:

Point in time view as at 25/06/1997.

Changes to legislation:

Police Act 1996, SCHEDULE 1 is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 26 July 2024. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Changes that have been made appear in the content and are referenced with annotations.