SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 1

THE LOW PAY COMMISSION

Membership

- 1 (1) The Low Pay Commission appointed under section 8(9) of this Act (in this Schedule referred to as "the Commission") shall consist of a chairman and eight other members appointed by the Secretary of State.
 - (2) In appointing members, the Secretary of State shall have regard to the desirability of securing that there is such a balance as the Secretary of State considers appropriate between—
 - (a) members with knowledge or experience of, or interest in, trade unions or matters relating to workers generally;
 - (b) members with knowledge or experience of, or interest in, employers' associations or matters relating to employers generally; and
 - (c) members with other relevant knowledge or experience.
 - (3) Members shall hold and vacate office in accordance with their terms of appointment, subject to the following provisions.
 - (4) A member may resign his membership by giving notice to the Secretary of State.
 - (5) A person who ceases to be a member shall be eligible for re-appointment.
 - (6) The Secretary of State may by notice to the member concerned remove from office a member who—
 - (a) has become bankrupt, has made an arrangement with his creditors, has had his estate sequestrated, has granted a trust deed for his creditors or has made a composition contract with his creditors, or
 - (b) has been absent from two or more consecutive meetings of the Commission otherwise than for a reason approved by them, or
 - (c) is in the opinion of the Secretary of State unable or unfit to perform his duties as member.

Status:

Point in time view as at 13/01/2009.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the National Minimum Wage Act 1998, Cross Heading: Membership.