

European Parliamentary Elections Act 2002

2002 CHAPTER 24

Introductory

[F1 Number of MEPs and electoral regions

- (1) There shall be 87 members of the European Parliament ("MEPs") elected for the United Kingdom.
- (2) For the purposes of electing those MEPs—
 - (a) [F2the area of England and Gibraltar is] divided into the nine electoral regions specified in Schedule 1; and
 - (b) Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are each single electoral regions.
- (3) The number of MEPs to be elected for each electoral region is as follows—

East Midlands	6
Eastern	8
London	10
North East	4
North West	10
South East	11
South West	7
West Midlands	8
Yorkshire and the Humber	7
Scotland	8
Wales	5

Status: Point in time view as at 05/02/2004. This version of this provision has been superseded.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the

European Parliamentary Elections Act 2002, Section 1. (See end of Document for details)

Northern Ireland

3.]

Textual Amendments

- F1 S. 1 substituted (8.5.2003) by European Parliament (Representation) Act 2003 (c. 7), ss. 1, 28(3)(4)
- **F2** Words in s. 1(2)(a) substituted (5.2.2004) by The European Parliamentary Elections (Combined Region and Campaign Expenditure) (United Kingdom and Gibraltar) Order 2004 (S.I. 2004/366), arts. 1(2), **3(2)**

Status:

Point in time view as at 05/02/2004. This version of this provision has been superseded.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the European Parliamentary Elections Act 2002, Section 1.