

# Constitutional Reform Act 2005

## **2005 CHAPTER 4**

#### PART 3

THE SUPREME COURT

The Supreme Court

## **23** The Supreme Court

- (1) There is to be a Supreme Court of the United Kingdom.
- (2) The Court consists of 12 judges appointed by Her Majesty by letters patent.
- (3) Her Majesty may from time to time by Order in Council amend subsection (2) so as to increase or further increase the number of judges of the Court.
- (4) No recommendation may be made to Her Majesty in Council to make an Order under subsection (3) unless a draft of the Order has been laid before and approved by resolution of each House of Parliament.
- (5) Her Majesty may by letters patent appoint one of the judges to be President and one to be Deputy President of the Court.
- (6) The judges other than the President and Deputy President are to be styled "Justices of the Supreme Court".
- (7) The Court is to be taken to be duly constituted despite any vacancy among the judges of the Court or in the office of President or Deputy President.

### 24 First members of the Court

On the commencement of section 23—

(a) the persons who immediately before that commencement are Lords of Appeal in Ordinary become judges of the Supreme Court,

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (b) the person who immediately before that commencement is the senior Lord of Appeal in Ordinary becomes the President of the Court, and
- (c) the person who immediately before that commencement is the second senior Lord of Appeal in Ordinary becomes the Deputy President of the Court.