

National Lottery Act 2006

2006 CHAPTER 23

National Lottery Commission

1 Constitution

- (1) Schedule 2A to the National Lottery etc. Act 1993 (c. 39) (National Lottery Commission) shall be amended as follows.
- (2) For paragraph 2(1) substitute—
 - "(1) The Commission shall consist of at least five members, appointed by the Secretary of State."
- (3) For paragraph 4 substitute—
 - "4 (1) The Secretary of State shall appoint a member of the Commission as chairman.
 - (2) A member of the Commission who is also an employee of the Commission may not be appointed as chairman.
 - (3) The chairman shall hold and vacate office in accordance with the terms of his appointment; but—
 - (a) sub-paragraphs (2) to (5) of paragraph 3 shall apply to the office of chairman as they apply to the office of member, and
 - (b) if the chairman ceases to be a member he shall cease to be chairman."
- (4) After paragraph 6 insert—
 - "6A (1) The Secretary of State may appoint the Chief Executive of the Commission as a member.
 - (2) Where the Chief Executive is appointed as a member—
 - (a) paragraph 5 shall not apply to him, and
 - (b) if he ceases to be Chief Executive he ceases to be a member.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (3) Where the Chief Executive is appointed as a member the Secretary of State may, on the recommendation of the Commission, appoint another employee of the Commission as a member; and—
 - (a) paragraph 5 shall not apply to a person appointed by virtue of this sub-paragraph,
 - (b) the Secretary of State may suspend or terminate an appointment made by virtue of this sub-paragraph if the Chief Executive ceases to be a member, and
 - (c) if a person appointed by virtue of this sub-paragraph ceases to be an employee of the Commission he shall cease to be a member."