

## Government of Ireland Act 1920

## **1920 CHAPTER 67**

## PROVISIONS AS TO EXISTING JUDGES AND OFFICERS.

## 56 Establishment of Civil Service Committee

- (1) For the purpose of the provisions of this Act with respect to existing officers, there shall be established a committee to be called the Civil Service Committee.
- (2) The committee shall consist of seven members, of whom one shall be appointed by the Treasury, one by a Secretary of State, one by the Government of Southern Ireland, one by the Government of Northern Ireland, two by the existing Irish officers, and one (who shall be chairman) by the Lord Chief Justice of England:
  - Provided that, after the existing Irish officers have been allocated in manner hereinafter provided, of the members of the committee appointed by the existing Irish officers one shall be appointed by such of those officers as have become officers of the Government of Southern Ireland, and one by such of those officers as have become officers of the Government of Northern Ireland.
- (3) Any vacancy arising in the committee shall be filled by the authority by whom the member whose place is vacant was appointed.
- (4) The Treasury may make regulations as to the manner in which the members to be appointed by the existing Irish officers are to be selected.
- (5) The committee may act by any four members, and notwithstanding any vacancy in their number, and, subject to the provisions of this Act, the committee may regulate their own procedure.
- (6) The determination of the Civil Service Committee on any claim or question which is to be determined by them under the provisions of this Act relating to existing officers shall be final and conclusive.
- (7) Any expenses incurred by the Civil Service Committee to such amount as may be approved by the Joint Exchequer Board shall be paid out of moneys provided by the Parliament of the United Kingdom, and shall be made, good by means of deductions

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

from the Irish residuary share of reserved taxes in accordance with regulations made by the Treasury.