STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1973 No. 137

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Metropolitan Districts (Names) Order 1973

Made	-	-	-	-	31st January 1973
Coming into Operation					1st April 1973

The Secretary of State for the Environment, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 1(3) of the Local Government Act 1972 and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following order:—

Title and commencement

1. This order may be cited as the Metropolitan Districts (Names) Order 1973 and shall come into operation on 1st April 1973.

Interpretation

2.—(1) The Interpretation Act 1889 shall apply for the interpretation of this order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

(2) In this order "identification letter" in relation to any metropolitan district in a metropolitan county named in column (1) of the Schedule to this order means the letter by which such district is identified in column (2) of Part I of Schedule 1 to the Local Government Act 1972.

Names of metropolitan districts

3. In the metropolitan counties named in column (1) of the Schedule to this order each metropolitan district identified by its identification letter in column (2) shall bear the name specified in respect of the district in column (3).

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State.

C. J. Pearce An Under Secretary in the Department of the Environment

31st January 1973

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. Read more

(1)	(2)	(3)
<i>Name of county</i> Greater Manchester	<i>Identification letter of district</i>	Name of district
Greater Manchester	(a)	Wigan
	(b)	Bolton
	(c)	Bury
	(d)	Rochdale
	(e)	Salford
	(f)	Manchester
	(g)	Oldham
	(h)	Trafford
	(j)	Stockport
	(k)	Tameside
Merseyside	(a)	Sefton
	(b)	Liverpool
	(c)	St. Helens
	(d)	Knowsley
	(e)	Wirral
South Yorkshire	(a)	Barnsley
	(b)	Doncaster
	(c)	Sheffield
	(d)	Rotherham
Tyne and Wear	(a)	Newcastle upon Tyne
	(b)	North Tyneside
	(c)	Gateshead
	(d)	South Tyneside
	(e)	Sunderland
West Midlands	(a)	Wolverhampton

SCHEDULE

(1) Name of county	(2) Identification letter of district (b)	(3) Name of district Walsall
	(c)	Dudley
	(d)	Sandwell
	(e)	Birmingham
	(f)	Solihull
West Yorkshire	(g) (a)	Coventry Bradford
	(b)	Leeds
	(c)	Calderdale
	(d)	Kirklees
	(e)	Wakefield

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order provides names for the metropolitan districts in England.