EXPLANATORY NOTE

Article 3 of this Order provides, with effect from 1st April 1974, for the division of non-metropolitan counties and metropolitan districts established by the Local Government Act 1972 into petty sessional divisions.

Article 4 creates, also with effect from 1st April 1974, a number of combined juvenile court panels for areas corresponding approximately to the areas for which there are existing combined panels.

Articles 5 to 16 make provision, with effect from 1st October 1973, for the extension until 1st April 1974 of existing terms of office of certain justices, for the justices for new petty sessions areas to take necessary steps for the operation of the courts and other bodies in that area after 1st April 1974 and for other transitional and incidental purposes.

Article 17 revokes, with effect from 1st April 1974, the orders made under section 18 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1949 which provide for the division of counties into petty sessional divisions and the orders made under Schedule 2 to the Children and Young Persons Act 1933 which establish combined juvenile court panels for two or more petty sessions areas.