1977 No. 1811

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of North Kesteven (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977

Made - - - 6th November 1977

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 29th June 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of North Kesteven:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of North Kesteven (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.

3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of North Kesteven shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into thirty wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of North Kesteven shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 6th November 1977.

(a) 1972 c. 70.

Article 4.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Ashby de la Launde	The parishes of Ashby de la Launde and Blox- holm, Blankney, Digby, Rowston and Scopwick	1
Bassingham	The parishes of Aubourn Haddington and South Hykeham, Bassingham and Thorpe on the Hill	1
Billinghay	The parishes of Billinghay and Dogdyke	1
Bracebridge Heath	The parishes of Brace- bridge Heath and Can- wick	2
Brant Broughton and Stragglethorpe	The parishes of Brant Broughton and Straggle thorpe, Beckingham, Carlton-le-Moorland, Norton Disney, Staple- ford and Thurlby	1
Branston and Mere	The parishes of Branston and Mere and Potter Hanworth	2
Cranwell and Byard's Leap	The parishes of Braunce- well, Cranwell and Byard's Leap and Temple Bruer with Temple High Grange	1
Eagle and North Scarle	The parishes of Eagle and Swinethorpe, North Scarle and Swinderby	1
Heckington	The parish of Heckington	1
Heighington	The parish of Heighington	1
Helpringham	The parishes of Burton Pedwardine, Great Hale, Helpringham, Little Hale and Swaton	1
Leasingham	The parishes of Leasing- ham, North Rauceby, Roxholm, South Rau- ceby and Wilsford	1
Martin	The parishes of Martin, Timberland and Wal- cott	1

14 (1)

SCHEDULE (Continued)

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Metheringham	The parishes of Dunston, Metheringham and Nocton	2
Navenby	The parishes of Boothby Graffoe, Coleby and Navenby	1
North Hykeham Central	The No. 2 ward of the parish of North Hyke- ham	2
North Hykeham North	The No. 3 ward of the parish of North Hyke- ham	2
North Hykeham South	The No. 1 ward of the parish of North Hyke- ham	1
North Kyme	The parishes of Anwick, Asgarby and Howell, Ewerby and Evedon, Kirkby la Thorpe, North Kyme and South Kyme	1
Osbournby	The parishes of Aswarby and Swarby, Aunsby and Dembleby, Culver- thorpe and Kelby, Newton and Haceby, Osbournby, Screding- ton, Silk Willoughby, Threekingham and Walcot near Folking- ham	1
Ruskington	The parishes of Dorring- ton and Ruskington	2
Skellingthorpe	The parishes of Dodding- ton and Whisby and Skellingthorpe	2
Sleaford East	The East ward of the parish of Sleaford	1
Sleaford North	The North ward of the parish of Sleaford	1
Sleaford South	The South ward of the parish of Sleaford	1

SCHEDULE (Continued)

1 Name of New Ward		2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Waddington East		The parish of Harmston and the No. 1 ward of the parish of Wadding- ton	2
Waddington West	••	The No. 2 ward of the parish of Waddington	1
Washingborough	••	The parish of Washing- borough	2
Wellingore	•••	The parishes of Leaden- ham, Welbourn and Wellingore	1

Printed in England by Oyez Press Limited, and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office 17/P16491 Q64 K7 11/77

> 15p net ISBN 0 11 071811 9