STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1977 No. 237

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of South Norfolk (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977

Made - - - - 11th February 1977

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 26th November 1976 have submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of South Norfolk:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of South Norfolk (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.

3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of South Norfolk shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into forty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of South Norfolk shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall. 11th February 1977.

(a) 1972 c. 70.

Article 4.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1		2	3 Number of Councillors
Name of No.	ew Ward	Area of New Ward	
Abbey	••• •••	The Abbey ward of the parish of Wymondham	1
Abbeyfield		The parishes of Carleton St. Peter, Ched- grave, Claxton and Langley with Hardley	1
Beauchamp		The parishes of Alpington, Ashby St. Mary, Bergh Apton, Thurton and Yelverton	1
Beckhithe		The parishes of Hethersett and Little Melton	2
Beck Vale		The parishes of Pulham Market, Pulham St. Mary and Starston	1
Berners		The parishes of Ashwellthorpe, Tasburgh and Tharston	1
Boyland		The parishes of Bressingham and Roydon	1
Broads	••• •••	The parishes of Bramerton, Hellington, Holverston, Rockland St. Mary and Surlingham	1
Brookwood		The parishes of Brooke, Howe, Kirstead and Woodton	1
Chet		The parishes of Loddon, Mundham, Seeth- ing and Sisland	1
Clavering	••• •••	The parishes of Haddiscoe, Hales, Hecking- ham, Norton Subcourse, Raveningham and Thurlton	1
Cringleford a	nd Colney	The parishes of Colney and Cringleford	1
Cromwells		The Cromwells ward of the parish of Wymondham	1
Crown Point		The parishes of Bixley, Caistor St. Edmund, Kirby Bedon and Trowse with Newton	1
Depwade		The parishes of Brockdish, Needham and Scole	1
Dickleburgh		The parishes of Dickleburgh, Tivetshall St. Margaret and Tivetshall St. Mary	1
Diss Town	••• •••	The parish of Diss	3
Ditchingham	••• •••	The parishes of Bedingham, Ditchingham, Hedenham, Thwaite and Topcroft	1

SCHEDULE—continued Article 4.

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 Name of New Ward			2	3 Number Of
			Area of New Ward	Councillors
Forehoe			The parishes of Deopham, Morley and Wicklewood	1
Harleston	•••		The parish of Redenhall with Harleston	1
Hempnall		••••	The parishes of Hempnall, Morning Thorpe and Shelton	1
Hingham		•••	The parish of Hingham	1
Humbleyard			The parishes of East Carleton, Keswick, Ketteringham and Swardeston	1
Kidner		•••	The parishes of Bawburgh, Easton, Great Melton and Marlingford	1
Long Row	•••	•••	The parishes of Burston, Gissing, Shelf- anger, Tibenham and Winfarthing	1
Marshland	•••		The parishes of Aldeby, Burgh St. Peter, Gillingham, Toft Monks and Wheatacre	1
Mergate	•••	•••	The parishes of Bracon Ash, Mulbarton and Wreningham	1
New Costesse	у	•••	The New ward of the parish of Costessey	2
Northfields	•••	•••	The Northfields ward of the parish of Wymondham	1
Old Costessey	1	•••	The Old ward of the parish of Costessey	2
Rosebery		•••	The parishes of Framingham Earl, Fram- ingham Pigot and Poringland	2
Rustens		•••	The Rustens ward of the parish of Wymondham	1
Smockmill		•••	The parishes of Flordon, Newton Flotman, Saxlingham Nethergate and Swainsthorpe	1
Springfields	•••	•••	The parishes of Bunwell and Carleton Rode	1
Stratton	•••		The parish of Long Stratton	1
Tasvale		•••	The parishes of Shotesham and Stoke Holy Cross	1
Town			The Town ward of the parish of Wymondham	1
Valley		•••	The parishes of Alburgh, Denton, Earsham and Wortwell	1

Article 4.

SCHEDULE—continued

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS (F COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS
----------------------------------	-----------------------------

1 Name of New Ward			2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Waveney	•••		The parishes of Broome, Ellingham, Geldeston, Kirby Cane and Stockton	1
Westwood			The parishes of Aslacton, Forncett, Great Moulton, Tacolneston and Wacton	1
Wodehouse	•••		The parishes of Barford, Barnham Broom, Kimberley, Runhall and Wramplingham	1

Printed in England by McCorquodale Printers Ltd., and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office 17/P19269/5 B99 K 10 2/77

.

15p net ISBN 0 11 070237 9