## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

Article 3 of this Order designates as reciprocating countries for the purposes of Part I of the Maintenance Orders (Reciprocal Enforcement) Act 1972 the following countries and territories: Alberta, Fiji, Hong Kong, Norfolk Island, Saskatchewan, Singapore, Turks and Caicos Islands, the United Republic of Tanzania (except Zanzibar) and Western Australia.

The Reciprocal Enforcement of Maintenance Orders (Designation of Reciprocating Countries) Order 1974 designated (*in alia*) certain Australian States and territories and Ontario for the purposes of Part I of the Act of 1972 subject to the exclusion of certain categories of order to which the designation did not extend. Articles 4 and 5 of this Order vary the Order of 1974 in relation to those Australian States and territories and Ontario by removing certain provisional orders from the categories of orders to which the designation does not extend.

As from the date of the coming into operation of this Order the whole of Australia is (by virtue of the said Order of 1974 and of Articles 3 and 4 of this Order) designated for the purposes of Part I of the Act of 1972 and the designation extends to all maintenance orders other than orders obtained by or in favour of a public authority.

Article 6 of this Order contains transitional provisions in respect of maintenance orders and proceedings to which the Maintenance Order (Facilities for Enforcement) Act 1920 applied before the coming into operation of the Order.