STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1979 No. 1411

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The City of Liverpool (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979

Made - - - 29th October 1979
Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 29th January 1979 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the City of Liverpool:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the City of Liverpool (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 1st May 1980 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.
- 3. The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE CITY OF LIVERPOOL (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1979" and deposited with the Secretary of State.
- 4. The existing wards of the City of Liverpool shall be abolished and the said city shall be divided into thirty-three wards which shall bear the names set out in the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.
- 5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.
- 6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be three.

- 7.—(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordnance Survey.
- (2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE CITY OF LIVERPOOL (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1979", shall be deposited with the council of the City of Liverpool and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person.
- 8. Subject to the provisions of Article 9 below the election of councillors shall be by thirds.
- 9.—(1) All the councillors who immediately before the coming into operation of this Order represent a ward as then constituted shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors of the city in 1980.
- (2) The whole number of councillors for each of the wards constituted by this Order shall be elected at the ordinary elections of metropolitan district councillors in 1980.
 - (3) Of the councillors elected in 1980 for any ward of the city—
 - (a) one-third shall retire in 1982 being, subject to paragraphs (4) and (5) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
 - (b) one-third shall retire in 1983 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
 - (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1984.
- (4) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (5) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.
- (6) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
- (7) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors of the city in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- 10. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

W. S. I. Whitelaw,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 29th October 1979.

Names of New Wards

Abercromby Granby

Aigburth Grassendale

Allerton Kensington

Anfield Melrose

Arundel Netherley

Breckfield Old Swan

Broadgreen **Picton** Childwall Pirrie

Church St. Mary's

Clubmoor

Smithdown

County Speke

Croxteth Tuebrook

Dingle Valley

Dovecot Vauxhall

Everton Warbreck Fazakerley Woolton

Gillmoss