1979 No. 1415

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of East Lindsey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979

Made - - - 6th November 1979

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 21st September 1979 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of East Lindsey:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of East Lindsey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 5th May 1983 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1982.

3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of East Lindsey shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into forty-eight wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of East Lindsey shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1983 and every fourth year thereafter.

W. S. I. Whitelaw, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 6th November 1979.

Article 3.

SCHEDULE

| | <u> </u> | | |
|---------------------|----------|---|----------------|
| 1 | | 2 | 3 Number of |
| Name of New War | ď | Area of New Ward | Councillors |
| Alford | ••• | The parishes of Alford, Bilsby, Farlesthorpe, Markby and Rigsby with Ailby | 2 |
| Binbrook | | The parishes of Binbrook, Burgh on Bain, Calcethorpe, East Wykeham, Hainton, Kelstern, Ludford and South Willingham | 1 |
| Burgh le Marsh | | The parishes of Burgh le Marsh and Croft | 1 |
| Chapel St. Leonards | | The parish of Chapel St. Leonards | 1 |
| Coningsby | | The parish of Coningsby | 1 |
| Donington on Bain | | The parishes of Asterby, Baumber, Benni- worth, Cawkwell, Donington on Bain, Gayton le Wold, Goulceby, Great Sturton, Hemingby, Market Stainton, Ranby, Scamblesby, Sotby, Stenigot and West Ashby | 1 |
| Friskney | | The parish of Friskney | 1 |
| Frithville | ••• | The parishes of Carrington, Frithville, Langriville, Thornton le Fen, West Fen and Westville | 1 |
| Fotherby | | The parishes of Brackenborough, Fotherby, Keddington, Little Grimsby, North Elkington, North Ormsby, South Elkington, Utterby and Wyham cum Cadeby | 1 |
| Grimoldby | | The parishes of Grimoldby, Manby, North Cockerington and South Cockerington | 1 |
| Halton Holegate | ••• | The parishes of Bratoft, Firsby, Great Steeping, Halton Holegate, Irby in the Marsh, Little Steeping and Thorpe St. Peter | 1 |
| Hogsthorpe | ••• | The parishes of Anderby, Cumberworth, Hogsthorpe, Huttoft and Mumby | 1 |
| Holton le Clay | ••• | The parish of Holton le Clay | 2 |
| Horncastle | | The parishes of Horncastle and Thimbleby | 3 |
| Hundleby | ••• | The parishes of Bolingbroke, East Keal, East Kirkby, Hagnaby, Hareby, Hundleby, Mavis Enderby, Raithby and West Keal | 1 |

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

2

SCHEDULE—continued

| 1 | | 2 | 3 |
|------------------|--------|---|--------------------------|
| Name of New Ward | | Area of New Ward | Number of Councillors |
| Ingoldmells . | •• ••• | The parishes of Addlethorpe and Ingoldmells | 1 |
| Legbourne . | | The parishes of Burwell, Hallington, Haugham, Legbourne, Little Cawthorpe, Maidenwell, Muckton, North Reston, Raithby cum Maltby, Stewton, Tathwell, Walmsgate, Welton le Wold and Withcall | 1 |
| Mablethorpe . | | The Mablethorpe North and the Mable- thorpe South wards of the parish of Mablethorpe and Sutton | 3 |
| Mareham le Fen. | •• ••• | The parishes of Mareham le Fen, Revesby, Tumby and Wildmore | 1 |
| Marsh Chapel . | | The parishes of Alvingham, Conisholme, Covenham St. Bartholomew, Covenham St. Mary, Grainthorpe, Marsh Chapel and Yarburgh | 1 |
| New Leake . | •••••• | The parishes of Eastville, Midville, New Leake, Stickford, Toynton All Saints and Toynton St. Peter | 1 |
| North Holme . | ••••• | The North Holme ward of the parish of Louth | 1 |
| North Somercotes | *** | The parishes of North Somercotes, Skid- brooke with Saltfleet Haven and South Somercotes | 1 |
| North Thoresby . | •• ••• | The parishes of Fulstow, Grainsby, Lud- borough, North Thoresby and Waithe | 1 |
| Partney | | The parishes of Ashby by Partney, Asward- by, Brinkhill, Calceby, Candlesby, Dalby, Driby, Gunby, Harrington, Haugh, Langton by Spilsby, Partney, Sausthorpe, Scremby, South Ormsby cum Ketsby, South Thoresby and Swaby | 1 |
| Priory | •• ••• | The Priory ward of the parish of Louth | 1 |
| Roughton . | •• ••• | The parishes of Bucknall, Edlington, Hal- tham, Horsington, Langton, Roughton, Stixwould, Thornton, Tupholme, Wad- dingworth, Wispington and Woodhall | 1 |
| St. Clements . | | The St. Clements ward of the parish of Skegness | 2 |
| St. James' . | | The St. James' ward of the parish of Louth | 1 |
| St. Margaret's . | •• ••• | The St. Margaret's ward of the parish of Louth | 1 |

SCHEDULE-continued

| 1 | 2 | 3 Number of Councillors |
|--------------------------|--|-------------------------------|
| Name of New Ward | Area of New Ward | |
| St. Mary's | The St. Mary's ward of the parish of Louth | 1 |
| St. Michael's | The St. Michael's ward of the parish of Louth | 1 |
| Scarbrough | The Scarbrough ward of the parish of Skegness | 2 |
| Seacroft | The Seacroft ward of the parish of Skegness | 2 |
| Sibsey | The parishes of Sibsey and Stickney | 1 |
| Spilsby | The parish of Spilsby | 1 |
| Sutton and Trusthorpe | The Sutton on Sea and the Trusthorpe wards of the parish of Mablethorpe and Sutton | 2 |
| Tattershall | The parishes of Tattershall and Tattershall Thorpe | 1 |
| Tetford | The parishes of Asgarby, Belchford, Claxby Pluckacre, Fulletby, Greetham, Hag- worthingham, Hameringham, High Toynton, Low Toynton, Lusby, Mareham on the Hill, Miningsby, Moorby, Salmonby, Scrivelsby, Somersby, Tetford, Winceby and Wood Enderby | 1 |
| Tetney | The parishes of North Coates and Tetney | 1 |
| Theddlethorpe St. Helen | The parishes of Gayton le Marsh, Great Carlton, Little Carlton, Saltfleetby All Saints, Saltfleetby St. Clement, Saltfleetby St. Peter, Theddlethorpe All Saints and Theddlethorpe St. Helen | 1 |
| Trinity | The Trinity ward of the parish of Louth | 1 |
| Wainfleet | The parishes of Wainfleet All Saints and Wainfleet St. Mary | 1 |
| Willoughby with Sloothby | The parishes of Claxby, Orby, Skendleby, Ulceby with Fordington, Well, Welton le Marsh and Willoughby with Sloothby | 1 |
| Winthorpe | The Winthorpe ward of the parish of Skegness | 2 |
| Withern with Stain | The parishes of Aby with Greenfield, Authorpe, Beesby in the Marsh, Belleau, Claythorpe, Hannah cum Hagnaby, Maltby le Marsh, Saleby with Thores- thorpe, South Reston, Strubby with Woodthorpe, Tothill and Withern with Stain | 1 |

4

SCHEDULE—continued

| 1 Name of New Ward | | rd | 2 Area of New Ward | 3 Number of Councillors |
|-----------------------|-----|-----|---|-------------------------------|
| Woodhall Spa | | ••• | The parishes of Kirkby on Bain, Kirkstead and Woodhall Spa | 2 |
| Wragby | ••• | ••• | The parishes of East Barkwith, Gautby, Hatton, Langton by Wragby, Minting, Panton, West Barkwith, West Torrington and Wragby | 1 |