STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1988 No. 1966

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The County of Gwent (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988

Made - - - 9th November 1988

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 28th March 1988 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Gwent:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Gwent (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988.
- **2.** This Order shall come into force on 4th May 1989, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force forthwith.
- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Gwent shall be abolished and that county shall be divided into sixty-three electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each electoral division shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division constituted by this Order shall be one.
- **4.** The ordinary elections of all councillors for the County of Gwent shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of county councillors in 1989 and every fourth year thereafter.
- **5.** The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Home Office 9th November 1988 Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

SCHEDULE Article 3(1).

NAMES AND AREAS OF NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
In the Borough of Blaenau Gwent	
Abertillery	The Abertillery and Six Bells wards
Beaufort	The Beaufort and Rassau wards
Brynmawr	The Brynmawr ward
Cwmtillery	The Cwmtillery ward
Ebbw Vale North	The Badminton and Ebbw Vale North wards
Ebbw Vale South	The Cwm and Ebbw Vale South wards
Llanelly	The Llanelly Hill ward
Llanhilleth	The Llanhilleth ward
Nantyglo and Blaina	The Blaina and Nantyglo wards
Sirhowy	The Georgetown and Sirhowy wards
Tredegar Central and West	The Tredegar Central and West wards
In the Borough of Islwyn	
Abercarn	The Abercarn ward
Blackwood	The Blackwood ward
Crumlin	The Crumlin ward
Mynyddislwyn	The Crosskeys and Ynysddu wards
Newbridge	The Newbridge ward
Pengam	The Cefn Fforest and Pengam wards
Penmaen	The Argoed and Penmaen wards
Pontllanfraith	The Pontllanfraith ward
Risca East	The Risca East ward
Risca West	The Risca West ward
In the Borough of Monmouth	
Abergavenny	
The Cantref, Lansdown and Priory wards	
Caerwent	The Caerwent and Portskewett wards
Caldicot Town	The Caldicot Castle, Severn and West End wards
Chepstow North	The Shirenewton, St. Arvans, St. Kingsmark and St. Mary's wards
Chepstow South	The Larkfield, St. Christopher's and Thornwell wards

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
Llanover	The Castle and Grofield, Llanfoist Fawr, Llanover and Llanwenarth Ultra wards
Mardy	The Croesonen, Crucorney and Mardy wards
Monmouth	The Overmonnow, Vauxhall and Wyesham wards
Monmouth Rural	The Llantilio Crossenny, Mitchel Troy, Raglan and Trellech United wards
Severnside	The Dewstow, Magor with Undy and Rogiet wards
Usk Rural	The Goetre Fawr, Llanbadoc, Llangybi Fawr and Usk wards
In the Borough of Newport	
Allt-yr-yn	The Allt-yr-yn ward
Alway	The Alway ward
Beechwood	The Beechwood ward
Bettws	The Bettws ward
Caerleon	The Caerleon ward
Gaer	The Gaer ward
Graig	The Graig ward
Liswerry	The Liswerry ward
Llanwern	The Langstone and Llanwern wards
Malpas	The Malpas ward
Pillgwenlly	The Pillgwenlly ward
Ringland	The Ringland ward
Rogerstone	The Rogerstone ward
Shaftesbury	The Shaftesbury ward
St. Julians	
The St. Julians ward	
Stow Hill	The Stow Hill ward
Tredegar Park	The Marshfield and Tredegar Park wards
Victoria	
The Victoria ward	

In the Borough of Torfaen

Abersychan The Abersychan ward
Blaenavon The Blaenavon ward

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
Croesyceiliog	The Croesyceiliog North and Croesyceiliog South wards
Fairwater	The Fairwater and Greenmeadow wards
Llantarnam	The Llantarnam and St. Dials wards
Llanyrafon	The Llanyrafon North and Llanyrafon South wards
Panteg North	The New Inn Upper ward and the Griffithstown East and Griffithstown West wards of the Community of Panteg
Panteg South	The New Inn Lower ward and the Sebastopol East and Sebastopol West wards of the Community of Panteg
Pontnewydd	The Pontnewydd ward
Trevethin	The St. Cadocs and Penygarn, Snatchwood and Trevethin wards
Two Locks	The Coed Eva and Two Locks wards
Upper Cwmbran	The Upper Cwmbran ward
Wainfelin	The Brynwern, Cwmyniscoy, Pontnewynydd, Pontypool and Wainfelin wards