STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1988 No. 832

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The County of Gwynedd (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988

Made---5th May 1988Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 4th August 1987 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Gwynedd:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Gwynedd (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988.

**2.** This Order shall come into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1989 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(**2**)) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force on 10th October 1988.

**3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Gwynedd shall be abolished and that county shall be divided into sixty-two electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each electoral division shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division constituted by this Order shall be one.

**4.** The ordinary elections of all councillors for the County of Gwynedd shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of county councillors in 1989 and every fourth year thereafter.

<sup>(1) 1972</sup> c. 70.

<sup>(</sup>**2**) 1983 c. 2.

Home Office 5th May 1988 Douglas Hurd One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

## SCHEDULE

Article 3(1)

I. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
In the Borough of Aberconwy	
Bro Machno	The Betws-y-Coed, Bro Machno and Uwch Conwy wards
Caerhun	The Caerhun and Trefriw wards
Conwy	The Conwy ward
Craig-y-Don	The Craig-y-Don ward
Deganwy	The Deganwy ward
Gogarth	The Gogarth ward
Llanfairfechan	The Bryn, Lafan and Pandy wards
Llanrwst	The Crwst, Eglwysbach and Gower wards
Llansanffraid	The Bryn Rhys, Fforddlas and Pensarn wards
Marl	The Marl ward
Mostyn	The Mostyn ward
Penmaenmawr	The Capelulo, Pant-yr-afon and Penmaenan wards
Penrhyn	The Penrhyn ward
Tudno	The Tudno ward
In the Borough of Arfon	
Bangor	The Glyder and Menai (Bangor) wards
Bethesda	The Gerlan, Ogwen and Rachub wards
Caernarfon	The Menai (Caernarfon) and Seiont wards
Dewi	The Deiniol, Dewi and Hendre wards
Dyffryn Nantlle	The Llanllyfni, Penygroes and Talysarn wards
Gwyrfai	The Bontnewydd and Waunfawr wards
Llanddeiniolen	The Bethel, Deiniolen and Penisarwaun wards
Llandwrog	The Llandwrog and Llanwnda wards
Llandygai	The Llandygai and Llanllechid/Aber wards
Marchog	The Garth, Hirael and Marchog wards
Padarn	The Llanberis and Llanrug wards
Peblig	The Cadnant and Peblig wards
Pentir	The Pentir and Y Felinheli wards
In the District of Dwyfor	
Criccieth	The Criccieth, Gest and Llanystumdwy wards
Dolbenmaen	The Beddgelert, Clynnog and Dolbenmaen wards

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1 Name of new destand division	2 Area of now electored division
1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division The Abersoch, Buan, Llanbedrog and
Llanengan	Llanengan wards
Llannor	The Abererch, Efail-newydd and Llanarmon wards
Nefyn	The Llanaelhaearn, Nefyn and Pistyll wards
Porthmadog	The Porthmadog East, Porthmadog West and Tremadog wards
Pwllheli	The Pwllheli North and Pwllheli South wards
Tudweiliog	The Aberdaron, Botwnnog and Tudweiliog wards
In the District of Meirionnydd	
Bala	The Bala, Llandderfel and Llanuwchllyn wards
Barmouth	The Barmouth and Dyffryn Ardudwy wards
Conglywal and Maenofferen	The Conglywal and Maenofferen ward
Corris	The Arthog, Corris, Llangelynin and Mawddwy wards
Dolgellau	The Brithdir and Llanfachreth, Dolgellau and Llanelltyd wards
Ffestiniog	The Bowydd and Rhiw and Cynfal and Teigl wards
Harlech	The Harlech and Llanbedr wards
Penrhyndeudraeth	The Penrhyndeudraeth and Trawsfynydd wards
Tywyn	The Aberdovey, Bryn-crug and Tywyn wards
In the Borough of Ynys Mon-Isle of Angles	sey
Aberffraw	The Aberffraw and Bodorgan wards
Aethwy	The Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll and Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog wards
Amlwch	The Amlwch ward
Beaumaris	The Beaumaris and Llangoed wards
Bro-y-Llynoed	The Bryngwran and Llanfair-yn-Neubwll wards
Cwm Cadnant	The Cwm Cadnant and Pentraeth wards
Dulas	The Llaneilian and Moelfre wards and the Community of Llaneugrad
Holyhead	The Holyhead Town, London Road and Morawelon wards
Llanbadrig	The Llanbadrig and Mechell wards
Llanfair-Mathafarn-Eithaf	The Brynteg and Llanbedrgoch wards
Llangefni	The Cefni, Cyngar and Tudur wards
-	

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
Llannerch-y-medd	The Bodffordd and Llannerch-y-medd wards and the Community of Llanddyfnan
Maeshyfryd	The Kingsland and Maeshyfryd wards
Menai	The Llanidan and Rhosyr wards
Menai Bridge	The Cadnant and Tysilio wards
Porthyfelin	The Parc a'r Mynydd and Porthyfelin wards
Trearddur	The Trearddur ward and the West ward of the Community of Valley
Valley	The Llanfaethlu ward and the Gorad, Llanynghendl and Village wards of the Community of Valley